Jennie: Gerald R. Ford

Gerald R. Ford (The American Presidents #38) by Douglas G. Brinkley

I’ll be honest, I picked the shortest book because as I come into the last presidents, I’ve got a fair amount of long biographies to read. And last month’s Nixon book was thick. I think this Ford biography gave me the best of both worlds: new information and short enough that I didn’t strain my wrist while holding it.

I found the portions regarding Nixon’s pardon to be especially insightful. I have come to feel like while Ford was a good president, I think he might’ve been even better in Congress. At least, in the aspect that it felt like Ford enjoyed (if that’s a word to be used in government, ha!) being a Congressman more than President.

That said, this biography was pretty decent. Nothing blow you out of the water, but not horribly mundane or dry either.

Leave a Reply

