Jacki: George W. Bush

Decision Points, by George W Bush

You guys. I don’t even know how to write this review. I feel like it confuses my brain to even try to talk about it. Because here’s the thing: I think it was well written. I genuinely enjoyed reading it and could hear it in W’s Texas twang the whole time. I thought that it was a transparent look at some really hard decisions.

But those decisions…. they were just so awful. Even hearing him talk about them years later I feel like I cannot even wrap my head around saying, “Yeah, go ahead and torture that dude.” and then talking about not using stem cells because they are life. That is backwards, right?! Gah. It made steam come out of my ears on the regular.

I really did learn so much about some of these issues and saw them from a completely different perspective. I knew that Katrina relief was FUBAR but didn’t know exactly how it went down- this is one decision making process that I feel like I genuinely judged Bush too hard for and reading this was clarifying.

I went into this thinking I was going to hate it because during Bush’s presidency was when I really started paying more attention to politics and don’t generally agree with much that he did, but was surprised about how much I enjoyed his voice and writing style. I liked that instead of being a straight chronology, it was set up in chapters about each big decision. I thought that this gave him more space to really flesh out each issue and go into detail on why he made the decisions he did. I respected that there were decisions that he made that he regretted later and some that he still stands by one hundred percent.

I am looking forward to a more definitive biography of him to come out, when we have a little more perspective on his time in office, but for now this was a great choice and I would highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

