Jennie: Teddy Roosevelt

Bully!: The Life and Times of Theodore Roosevelt: Illustrated with More Than 250 Vintage Political Cartoons by Rick Marschall

When I ran across this book during a Half Price Books trip, I immediately knew I had to buy it. I was months from reaching TR in the Presidential Challenge, but I’ve learned to buy these biographies ahead of time when they’re on sale or look interesting.

The unique addition of political cartoons from the time made this biography a must buy, and in that aspect I wasn’t disappointed at all. The pages are thick, so the cartoons are beautifully presented and fascinating. Each chapter of text included a section of cartoons relating to the chapter.

1unnamed unnamed

As for the text, I learned more than a few things about TR, but I was slightly annoyed by the obvious pro-TR leanings of the author. Not to mention a reference to today’s tea party movement. That aside, I think the creative pages made this a biography I would recommend, as long as you keep in mind the other part.

Leave a Reply

