Jacki: Ronald Reagan

 

Ronald Reagan: How an Ordinary Man Became an Extraordinary Leader, by Dinesh D’Souza

Ok, just… if you love Ronald Reagan, you’ll love this book. If his politics seem pretty gross to you, this book will send you into rage fits.

It’s a biography kind of. Mostly it is a suuuuuper conservative propaganda pamphlet. I mean, it honestly reads like a love letter or something. I knew going in, because of the title, that it would probably fall on the side of favoring Reagan, which honestly I would rather read than a big huge “I hate this guy” biography because negativity is so off-putting. Today I learned that hero worship is way, way more off-putting to me.

I think that the problem with writing something that is SO one sided is that it makes me doubt everything that the author says. I know that he’s exaggerating and projecting in some areas so I’m left to wonder about every. single. fact. that is presented.

Honestly, it was well written and I had no trouble reading it, except for the part where the dude justified every single action that RR made in office and went on and on about just how dang funny and brilliant and smarter than everyone on the planet he was.

I wasn’t a fan, but I know that it was my political leanings more than anything that kept me from enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

