Lauren B: Thomas Jefferson

Thomas Jefferson: Author of America, by Christopher Hitchens

This was the LONGEST 150 page book I’ve ever read. The history stayed very high-level and broad, and really didn’t focus on Jefferson himself much at all, just the political events going on around him. Every other paragraph was broken up with original-source quotes. Obviously this author enjoys trying to impress his readers with big, academic words.

I did enjoy reading about some of the foreign policy stuff during his presidency, but other than that I felt like the information was so broad and brief – and things I already knew. It reminded me of the few paragraphs of info you get in a crappy high school text book. I’ve gotten this same level of info (in some cases, more) from other books I’ve read on the time period that aren’t even focused primarily on Jefferson. Meh.

Original Post

Leave a Reply

