Jessica: Andrew Jackson

American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House, by Jon Meacham

My first thought on this Jackson biography is ho-hum. It took me a long time to read and I don’t felt like I came away with a lot of information on Jackson himself. He comes off as the first “rebel” president and somewhat of a hothead, power hungry individual. He was after all the first president to come from the wilderness.

I did however learn a lot about Margaret Eaton and what a horrible reputation she had. At times I felt like I was reading her biography. But I do understand the parallels between her and Mrs. Jackson and the importance of why Jackson stuck by her in times of trouble. I just think there could have been a bit less about her.

Original Post

Leave a Reply

